Halal food

Forbidden to you (for food) are: dead meat, blood, the flesh of swine, and that on which hath been invoked the name of other than Allah; that which hath been killed by strangling, or by a violent blow, or by a headlong fall, or by being gored to death; that which hath been (partly) eaten by a wild animal; unless ye are able to slaughter it (in the due form); that which is sacrificed on stone (altars); (forbidden) also is the division (of meat) by raffling with arrows: that is impiety. This day have those who reject faith given up all hope of your religion: yet fear them not but fear Me. This day have I perfected your religion for you, completed My favour upon you, and have chosen for you Islam as your religion. But if any is forced by hunger, with no inclination to transgression, Allah is indeed Oft-forgiving, Most Merciful.

(Quran: 5:3)

Questionable or Check the source!
  • Whey and Diary products: Depends on the enzyme used to curdle the milk. Normally the label does not make any distinction, so the products are suspected.

  • Emulsifiers: Commercially available mono and diglycerides may be manufactured from vegetable oil, beef fat or lard.  If not labeled as vegetable, then product is considered suspected.

  • Enzymes: The source can be animal, plant or microbial. Normally the label does not make any distinction.

  • Glycerine: No distinction on the label for source of glycerin (animal or vegetable) so any product containing glycerin is also suspected.

  • Microbes and Microbial Products: Halal as long as not harmful and not contaminated by najis. If the najis is not pork or pork derivatives that can be separated, the microbes or microbial products become halal after being purified by water. • The use of embryonic chicken eggs as a growth medium is allowed.

  • Gelatin: No distinction on the label for the source of animal, so any product containing gelatin is Haram or suspected.

  • Animal Fat or Protein: Authorized animal ?  Halal Slaughtered ?

  • Alcohol (intoxicants : ethanol) is prohibited in Islam.  There is no allowance for added alcoholic drinks in food, cooking or formulations.

Kosher and Halal
  • Kosher foods fall into three categories: meat, dairy, and "pareve"

  • Kosher laws preclude eating or serving dairy together with meat. 

  • Dairy and meat products must always be kept separate in order to be considered kosher.

  • “K” or “OU” by itself could indicate that the food is pareve, meaning that it doesn’t contain meat or dairy, but it may contain fish, eggs, or honey. 

  • Foods that contain meats or meat derivatives will contain either the word ‘meat’, ‘glatt’, or an ‘M’ near the kosher symbol on the label. An “OU-M” symbol or an “OU-Glatt” symbol indicates that the product is Kosher meat. Since meat and dairy cannot be mixed under kosher dietary laws, kosher meat certified products must also be dairy free. However, these products may not be suitable for Muslim.

  • Food items and drinks showing the kosher symbol containing alcohol are not halal.

Haram Ingredients 
  • Human body part ( ex. hair)

  • Polyglycerol Polyricinoleate (Animal) (E476)

  • Renin Rennet (Animal)

  • Alcohol

  • Whey or Whey Powder (Animal)

  • Animal Fat

  • Bacon (Pork)

  • Collegen (pork)

  • Diglyceride (Animal)

  • Dough Conditioners

  • Emulsifier

  • Bacterial Enzyme (Animal)

  • Ergocalciferol

  • Fat (Pork or Animal)

  • Fatty Acid (Animal)

  • Gelatin

  • Glyceride (Animal)

  • Glycerol/Glycerine (Animal)

  • Ham

  • Harmones (Animal)

  • Hydrolyzed Animal protein

  • Lard

  • Monoglycerides (Animal)

  • Pepsin (Animal)

  • Phospholipid (Animal)

  • Pork & All by Products

  • Sausage

  • Shortening (Animal)

Where to buy Halal Food?

 

Major Superstores: Costco, Walmart , Atlantic Superstore, Sobeys etc.

Victory Meat Market

334 King Street, Fredericton, NB

Halal Station (Online only)

www.halalstation.ca

506 447 0525. 

Local Restaurant :

Caribbean Flavas  

123 York St, Fredericton

Big Bite Snacks

440 York Street, Fredericton

(506) 260-4061

Sphinx Restaurant

526 Queen St, Fredericton

506-442-2000

Contact Us:

130 Lincoln Road

Fredericton, New Brunswick

Canada E3B 2A3

Phone: 506 - 462 - 9006

Email: frederictonislamicassociation@gmail.com

FIA charitable registration No.: 888228376 RR0001

@Copyright 2021, FIA  NB Canada, All Rights Reserved.